Quenched

2018 was quite a year. Every single relationship I had changed in some way. Some drastically and others in more subtle ways.

The biggest change was in my relationships is my relationship with myself. I am no longer thirsty for love and understanding from others because I’ve finally learned to look in the right places.

I’ve found answers to many of my old questions and discovered new, more significant questions and observations. I’ve lost many of the people and possessions that once made me feel loved and safe and have found honesty, authenticity and respect in unexpected places and freedom in shedding my personal belongings on an unplanned journey of minimalism.

If there is any one lesson I’ve found to be unfailingly true about life is that we’ll never be done learning life’s lessons. As long as we’re breathing, there will be another lesson learned; usually through a painful experience somehow redeemed with a bittersweet aftertaste.

Here’s to a new year, a new journey and a new blog. I won’t be posting on Thirsty anymore and have already moved on to a new writing adventure that promises adventure and challenges me to dig a little deeper; to step into spaces that are a little less safe and a lot less comfortable.

To the small group of folk still following my posts – thank you for your support. It has meant so much to me.
“The truth is, unless you let go, unless you forgive yourself, unless you forgive the situation, unless you realize that the situation is over, you cannot move forward.”

– Steve Maraboli

Leave a comment